European Cultural Convention

The European Cultural Convention is an international treaty opened for signature by the Council of Europe in Paris on 19 December 1954.
The convention has been ratified by all 47 member states of the Council of Europe; it has also been ratified by Belarus, the Holy See, and Kazakhstan.

The Convention promotes cooperation among European nations in order safeguard cultural property as well as to study and promote European civilization. The cultural property of the parties to the Convention is regarded as part of the common cultural heritage of Europe. The Convention emphasizes the nation as protector of the heritage not only for its own people but also for the wider community. The Convention encourages exchanges of persons and cultural objects and promotes access to cultural resources.
Its signature is one of the conditions for becoming a participating state in the Bologna Process and its European Higher Education Area (EHEA).